Dropbox has communicated via email to Mac users who have older versions of OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard installed on their machine that from the next May 18 They will stop offering support and sync service for the cloud application.
Does this mean that they will lose all the data? No. Are you telling us that we won't be able to use Dropbox if we don't update? No. It is a measure that all developers usually carry out at some time and it is that from the Dropbox application, we will no longer be able to synchronize our content and the like, but can always be accessed through the web.
The storage company communicates the movement with this email that it will arrive shortly if you are using OS X 10.5 or lower:
We found out that you are running the Dropbox desktop application on an older operating system (OS X Tiger 10.4 or OS X Leopard 10.5). We're writing to inform you that as of May 18, Dropbox will no longer support these versions of OS X.
Don't worry, your files and photos will not be lost! But you will have to upgrade to OS X Snow Leopard 10.6 or higher if you want to continue accessing the service from the Dropbox desktop application. Instructions on how to update Apple's operating system can be found here!.
If you do not want to update your operating system to OS X 10.6 or higher, the files will still be available through the Dropbox website But on May 18, the Dropbox app on your computer will no longer be accessible.
We apologize for any inconvenience. For more information, please visit our Help Center .
- The Dropbox team
So we are warned, if you want to continue using the Dropbox application to manage your files, you will have to update OS X. I repeat that this usually happens with several applications and it's completely normal that developers put aside these older versions of OS X.